Worth every cent: Sabri Brothers

Maqbool Ahmed and Ghulam Farid

Maqbool Ahmed and Ghulam Farid

I found this record in my favourite vinyl store in Melbourne, Licorice Pie (“We Sell All Sorts”) on High Street, Windsor and eyed it for a number of months. The guy wanted too much I thought, as by the way, how the hell would some Greek shopkeeper know the value of the Sabri Brothers vs any other pair of recording siblings?

I asked him once to cut me some slack. “The record’s been sitting there for over a year,” I said. “Obviously, it’s not going to move at that price.”

He gave me a weak smile but didn’t bite. He mentioned that similar items were selling on the net for much more.

“Well, we all know those prices are inflated,” I countered. “Who would pay $300 for some old Lollywood record? Those prices are for suckers.” By implication, of course, I wanted him to know I was not one of those.

“This price isn’t inflated,” he said, hardly looking at me. He kept working on reviewing a stack of new (old) LPs that stood between him and me.

Eventually, some months later I forked over the required (and stickered) price. Did he give me a wry, victorious smile? No, he’s a fine Greek gentleman and a paragon of discretion and honor. He accepted my fistful of dollars and muttered something like “you’ll enjoy that”.

Indeed, I have enjoyed it.

I hope you do to. A fine Pakistani pressing of Ghulam Farid and Maqbool Ahmed Sabri which from the photo of the two brothers on the back cover should be dated in the early to mid 1970s.

Qawalli in its present form is a well established art of singing in Indo/Pakistani music. In the past, many a teams have earned subcontinental reputation in this particular field. Through this record we are pleased to present a widely known ‘party’ of Karachi who have built up their fame through a lengthy period of career, excellent team work and expressive rendering.

Headed by Ghulam Farid Sabri and ably assisted by his brother Maqbool Ahmed Sabri, the group has won many laurels and participated in several important functions.   On this disc we have recorded following four well chosen devotional items The worthy listener will do doubt appreciate the theme of each elaborated with supplementary verses and ‘baits’. He will also, we are sure, enjoy the sincere and superb presentation by the Sabri brothers. We further hope that the listener will notice the skilled balancing in recording of the orchestra which has given a total brilliance to all the performances. (Liner Notes)

Ya Ali Madad!

front back

Track Listing:

  1. Balaghal Ula Be Kamalehi (Amber Shah Warsi)
  2. Savere Savere (Sahrai Sanbhri)
  3. Tajdar-e-Haram ho Nigah-e-Karam (Hakim Mirza Madni)
  4. Qaul Tarana (Amir Khusroo)

sabri

3 thoughts on “Worth every cent: Sabri Brothers

Leave a Reply

