From the Archives: Ustad Mohammad Sharif Poonchwaley and Sadiq Ali Khan Mando and Master Sohni Khan

Mirasi minstrels. Moradabad. 1870

Mirasi minstrels. Moradabad. 1870

Another wonderful dip into the Archvies of the original Washerman’s Dog blog and the Music Pakistan series.

In September 1986 I  arrived in Lahore, Pakistan for a year of intensive Urdu language study.  As an eager recently graduated university student I made a point of meeting as many people who could introduce to me to that mythical beast the ‘real’ Pakistan.  How the connection was made I don’t recall but I do remember that I spent several days hanging out at the home of one Raza Kazim a left-leaning lawyer who had recently been released from jail. He had written a book of his experiences which included solitary confinement and torture.  He gifted me a copy which I used over the year as a text for my slowly improving Urdu. (Original post and links)

3 thoughts on “From the Archives: Ustad Mohammad Sharif Poonchwaley and Sadiq Ali Khan Mando and Master Sohni Khan

Leave a Reply

