Anniversary Milestone: Indian Filmi Songs

don-poster

In this instalment of the Washerman’s Dog Anniversary Edition we pay tribute to the Indian film music industry. When I was in high school and was about to launch upon writing my first ‘research paper’, as instructed by our teacher, I chose a subject of interest. It was something like ‘The Nazis”.

My teacher called me aside and counseled me that perhaps I should reflect on the subject and in particular, the aspect of it sheer vastness. ‘Is there any particular angle you want to take? Could you narrow it down to a more manageable piece of work?’ I returned to my desk, chastened but forever indebted to that mentoring.

When I, with my limited knowledge of the subject “Bollywood Music”, prepare myself to put together a playlist of outstanding or representative or characteristic songs from the film studios of India I am overwhelmed. Simply and completely. Does one go with the evergreens, the classically based ones, the modern fast dance numbers, the oddities or what? And then how does represent all of India, and not just Hindi speaking listeners? From what I can tell Tamil films and Telegu films and Bengali films are equally blessed with wonderful musicians, composers and singers.

By this time I’m fidgety and want to walk away from this bloody Anniversary idea.

Calmer, after a cup of tea, I plough ahead. And for better or worse with no pretensions of any overarching themes, herewith is my choice, which I hope you’ll dig too. I’ve tried to stay away from the usual well known hits (but have not avoided them completely), and given a preference for some of the lesser known singers and artists. I’ve chucked in a few Dravidian hits (which I love but don’t understand), a couple of English-based retreads and find I’ve got quite a few duets in the mix too.

I end up with some more upbeat contemporary sounds.   With love but not necessarily any cohesion, I pesh karo to you, this playlist.

filmi

Track Listing:

01 Theme Music (Karz:1980)

02 Tum Tum Tumba (Karate: 1983)

03 Kahin Door Jab Din Dhale (Anand: 1971)

04 Anbe Vaa (Anbe Vaa: 1966)

05 Puthu Villai (Roja:1992)

06 Aaj ki Raat (Aman: 1966)

07 Jane na Nazar (Aah: 1953)

08 Hello Hello Sun Sun Sun (Pyar Mohabbat: 1966)

09 Saathi na Koi Manzil (Bombay ka Babu:1960)

10 Waqt Ne Kiya Koi Haseen Sitam (Kaghaz ke Phool: 1959)

11 Main To Kuchh Bhi Nahin (Daag: 1973)

12 Athey Athey (Ramudu Bheemudu:1964)

13 Yeh Nai Nai Preet Hai (Pocket Maar: 1956)

14 Ye Duniya (Lakhon Mein Ek: 1971)

15 Music Theme (Kashish: 1980)

16 Each Time I Remember Your Pretty Face (Qurbani: 1980)

17 Come Closer (Kasam Paida Karne Wale Ki: 1984)

18 Ek Ladki ko Dekha (1942 A Love Story: 1994)

19 Sharaab Hai Shabaab Hai (Aatish: 1979)

20 Chaman Mein Rah Ke Virana (Deedar: 1951)

21 Ravoyee Chandamama (Missamma: 1955)

22 Maan Mera Ehsaan (Aan: 1952)

23 Naan Yaar Theriyuma (Naa Yaar Theryuma: 1967)

24 Jis Gali Mein Tera Ghar (Safar: 1970)

25 Sapna Mera Toot Gaya (Khel Khel Mein: 1975)

26 Hamen Tumse Pyar Kitna (Kudrat: 1981)

27 Nahin Chahiye Rang Mahal (College Girl: 1981)

28 Phir Mujhe Deeda-e-tar-Yaad Aaya (Mirza Ghalib: 1954)

29 Aao Twist Karen (Bhoot Bungla: 1965)

30 Kuchi Kuchi Twist (Quick Gun Murugan: 2009)

31 When I Say Come (Inspector Vikram: 1989)

32 Aboorva Sakthi 369 (Puthiyaulagille:1991)

33 Rocking Shocking Family (Love Express: 2011)

34 Tere Bin (Delhi Heights: 2007)

F I L M I

Leave a Reply

