100 and still going

cassettes2I began this blog as a spin-off from the Washerman’s Dog about a year and a half ago. The idea was to have a blog dedicated entirely to the music of South Asia and the diaspora.  The Washerman’s Dog continued to highlight and share music from all other parts of the world, with a heavy preference for Africa, blues, r&b and jazz.

I have now made 100 posts!  If you include the Washerman’s Dog (which featured many South Asian selections as well) the figure is 700+!

In order to celebrate, over the next few weeks I will be sharing 100 of my favorite South Asian pieces of music.  I hope you’ll enjoy them.

And thanks for being my saathis along the way!

Jai ho!!!

 

9 thoughts on “100 and still going

  1. Hi Nate,
    Thanks a thousand times for having made me aware of such wonderful music ! So many fantastic artists that now have become my everyday friends … Power of music ! How could we go on days after days without music ?
    I selfishly hope you will be able to keep this up for years to come …
    Happy birthday to the HMB !

  2. Mr. H. –
    It is an honor to be allowed to share this magnificent music.
    Your generosity is never taken for granted.
    Thank you from the bottom of my thirsty soul.
    Steven in New York City.

  3. I love your blog! Thanks for all the good sounds! I moved out to a micro-town in North Dakota (a really great life), and I haven’t had even a bite of Biryani for a year and a week!

    • Khaliluddin. North Dakota eh? Not far from my old stomping grounds, the Twin Cities. I can understand your missing biriyani…but holidays hold all sorts of hope.
      Thanks for your msg and nice to know someone out there in the land of the Dakota and Lakota is listening!

Leave a Reply

